Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Haverford Tabbed First in Men’s Cross-Country Preseason Poll

Haverford Tabbed First in Men’s Cross-Country Preseason Poll

LANCASTER, Pa. – Haverford has been voted to repeat as the Centennial Conference Men’s Cross Country Champions, following a vote by the conference’s head coaches. The Fords received the maximum number of points (64) and received eight first-place votes during balloting.

Johns Hopkins came in second place with the remaining first-place vote and 57 points. Dickinson took third with 47 points, followed by Swarthmore in fourth place with 44 points.

Ursinus (36) was ranked fifth, Gettysburg was sixth in the poll with 25 points, while Franklin & Marshall (22), Muhlenberg (19), and McDaniel (10) rounded out the voting in seventh through ninth, respectively. 

The 2022 season opens up on Thursday, Sept. 1 for four of the nine Centennial squads, with all nine teams set to compete by Saturday, Sept. 3. The Centennial Conference Championship meet is set for Saturday, Oct. 29 at the Alumni Cross Country Course in Haverford, Pa., with Haverford College serving as host.

2022 Schedule | 2021 Results | 2021 Championship Results | 2021 All-Centennial Team | Record Book

The Fords finished last season with two titles after capturing their 24th conference championship and the 2021 Metro Regional team title. Haverford returns their top five runners from a season ago, led by two-time all-conference runner Ryan Kredell (2019 2nd team All-CC, 2021 1st team All-CC). 

Additional All-CC performers coming back for Haverford include Max Brelig (2021 1st team All-CC), Peter Buckley (2021 2nd team All-CC), Jamie Moreland (2021 2nd team All-CC), and Nico Tripeny (2021 2nd team All-CC). 

Four all-conference runners return for the Blue Jays including Matthew Kleiman (2021 1st team All-CC), Gavin McElhennon (2021 2nd team All-CC), Charlie Teeter (2021 2nd team All-CC), and 2021 CC Rookie of Year Tommy Li (2021 1st team All-CC). 

Additional All-CC performers back this fall include Swarthmore pair Aidan Cantine (2021 1st team All-CC) and Atticus Hempel (2021 2nd team All-CC). 

2022 Centennial Conference Men's Cross Country Preseason Poll

Rank | Institution (First-Place Votes)              Points
1. Haverford (8) 64
2. Johns Hopkins (1) 57
3. Dickinson 47
4. Swarthmore 44
5. Ursinus 36
6. Gettysburg 25
7. Franklin & Marshall 22
8. Muhlenberg 19
9. McDaniel 10