Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Hopkins Edges Haverford for CC Title

Hopkins Edges Haverford for CC Title

Championship Homepage | Team Results | Individual Results

HAVERFORD, Pa. -- In the second-closest finish in Centennial Conference history, Johns Hopkins edged Haverford by three points to claim its third men's cross country championship on Saturday at Haverford's Alumni Cross Country Course. 

The Blue Jays grabbed three of the top five placings and five in the top 12, tallying 33 points to edge the host Fords (36) by three. The closest finish in CC history also occurred between Haverford and JHU at the Alumni Cross Country Course back in 2018 when the Fords defeated the Blue Jays by just one point (34-35). JHU's other CC titles came in 2019 and 2013. 

Swarthmore placed third with 69 points while Dickinson (103) and Ursinus (162) closed out the top five team finishes. 

Haverford's Ryan Kredell won the individual title, outlasting JHU's Matthew Kleiman by a little more than seven seconds. Kredell crossed the line in 24:36.40 to become the 20th Haverford champion in CC history and first since 2017. Kleiman finished the 8k course in 24:43.70 to secure a top-five finish for the second straight year. JHU's Gavin McElhennon (24:44.20), Swarthmore's Aidan Cantine (24:48.40) and JHU's Emmanuel Leblond (24:51.60) also contributed top-five finishes. 

The Haverford duo of Peter LaRochelle (25:00.70) and Miles Colescott (25:00.80) claimed the final two spots on the All-Centennial first team with top-seven placings. 

Swarthmore's Atticus Hempel (25:02.30), Haverford's Aaron Bratt (25:03.50) and Swarthmore's Will Sheehy (25:06.90) earned top-10 finishes in eighth through 10th, respectively. The Hopkins tandem of Daniel Chen (25:07.50) and Sean Enright (25:08.50) edged out Haverford's Peter Buckley (25:09.90) and Jamie Moreland (25:13.40) in what would prove to be crucial positioning towards the team outcome to round out the all-conference honorees. 

Team Results

  1. Johns Hopkins, 33
  2. Haverford, 36
  3. Swarthmore, 69
  4. Dickinson, 103
  5. Ursinus, 162
  6. Franklin & Marshall, 189
  7. McDaniel, 215
  8. Muhlenberg, 239
  9. Gettysburg, 240

Individual Results

  1. Ryan Kredell, Haverford, 24:36.40
  2. Matthew Kleiman, Johns Hopkins, 24:43.70
  3. Gavin McElhennon, Johns Hopkins, 24:44.20
  4. Aidan Cantine, Swarthmore, 24:48.40
  5. Emmanuel Leblond, Johns Hopkins, 24:51.60
  6. Peter LaRochelle, Haverford, 25:00.70
  7. Miles Colescott, Haverford, 25:00.80
  8. Atticus Hempel, Swarthmore, 25:02.30
  9. Aaron Bratt, Haverford, 25:03.50
  10. Will Sheehy, Swarthmore, 25:06.90
  11. Daniel Chen, Johns Hopkins, 25:07.50
  12. Sean Enright, Johns Hopkins, 25:08.50
  13. Peter Buckley, Haverford, 25:09.90
  14. Jamie Moreland, Haverford, 25:13.40