Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Kredell, Haverford Nab Regional Championships

Kredell, Haverford Nab Regional Championships

Metro Regional Results | Mid-Atlantic Regional Results

The Centennial Conference pieced together yet another strong regional showing on Saturday with two individual titles, one team title and two team runner-up finishes at the NCAA Metro and Mid-Atlantic Regionals. Haverford repeated as team champions at the Metro Regional while Ryan Kredell won the individual crown, and Johns Hopkins' Gavin McElhennon won the individual title at the Mid-Atlantic Regional. Kredell and McElhennon became the 14th and 15th runners in CC history to win individual regional titles. 

A total of 22 all-region awards were secured by Centennial runners across the two regional meets. 

CENTER VALLEY, Pa. -- Haverford put together a superb showing en route to the team title at the Metro Regional hosted by DeSales, securing five of the top seven placings to total 21 points and defeat second-place Swarthmore by 53 points. It marks the second-straight and 20th overall regional title for the Fords as the member of the Centennial. 

Swarthmore's second-place finish was spearheaded by Aidan Cantine (3rd; 25:27) and Will Sheehy (4th; 25:39), while Atticus Hempel (12th; 26:11), Colin DeLaney (25th; 26:43) and Sam Brody (30th; 26:47) also collected all-region accolades for the Garnet. 

Ursinus placed 10th with 272 points while Muhlenberg took 13th with 388. 

LOCK HAVEN, Pa. -- Johns Hopkins' Gavin McElhennon raced to the individual title to lead a contingent of 11 all-region performers at the Mid-Atlantic Regional at Lock Haven University. 

In the team standings, Hopkins led the way in second place with 60 points, trailing team champion Carnegie Mellon (22) by 38 points. In addition to McElhennon, Arthur Beyer (9th; 25:27.4), Jonas Larson (11th; 25:32.1), Matthew Kleiman (17th; 25:44.7), Charlie Teeter (22nd: 25:57.3), Rowan Cassidy (25th; 25:59.5) and Bryce Thalheimer (32nd; 26:26.7) also earned all-region status for JHU. 

Dickinson took fourth place with 126 points, led by Alexander Kane (13th) and Teddy Mercer (16th). Romario Cruz (27th) and Matt Dietrich (31st) also received all-region honors for the Red Devils. 

Franklin & Marshall (17th; 484) and McDaniel (18th; 501) finished back-to-back while Gettysburg placed 20th with 608 points.