Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Three Centennial Teams, Eight Individuals Ready for Cross Country Nationals

Three Centennial Teams, Eight Individuals Ready for Cross Country Nationals

NCAA Release | Championship Homepage

INDIANAPOLIS, Ind. -- Three teams and eight individuals from the Centennial Conference have qualified for the 2022 NCAA Division III Men’s and Women’s Cross Country Championships, set for this Saturday, Nov. 19 in Lansing, Mich. at Forest Akers East Golf Course. In order to be eligible to participate in the championships, teams and individuals had to qualify in their respective NCAA regional competitions that were held last weekend. 

On the men's side, two Centennial teams qualified for nationals for the 17th time in conference history. Centennial champion Johns Hopkins received an at-large bid while Haverford won its regional title to secure an automatic bid into the field. It marks the sixth straight year that both the Blue Jays and Fords qualified as teams for the national meet. Four individuals grabbed spots in the field - Dickinson's Alexander Kane and the Swarthmore trio of Aidan Cantine, Atticus Hempel and Will Sheehy. 

On the women's side, two-time defending national champion Johns Hopkins will represent the CC in the team standings. The Blue Jays are seeking a Division III record eighth national title and are competing at nationals for the 15th straight time. JHU won the Mid-Atlantic regional title last weekend to secure an automatic bid. Individually, four CC runners will compete - Haverford's Katie Hirsche, Ursinus' Rachel Conhoff, and Swarthmore's Olivia Montini and Rose Teszler. 

Olivet College and the Greater Lansing Sports Authority are hosting the championships Nov. 19 at Forest Akers East Golf Course on the campus of Michigan State University in Lansing, Michigan. The women’s race will begin at 11 a.m. Eastern, followed by the men’s race at Noon Eastern. 

A live webstream of the championships will occur on beginning at 11 a.m. Eastern until the conclusion of the awards ceremony.

Thirty-two teams were selected to participate in each championship. The top seven-person team automatically qualified from each of the 10 regions, for a total of 10 teams. Twenty-two additional teams were selected at-large.  Seventy individuals, the first seven student-athletes from each region who are not a part of a qualifying team, were selected to participate in each championship.